top of page
  • Writer's pictureBre

Black Girl Magic

Updated: Mar 8, 2020

Just a short post with my thoughts.


I grew up with a mentality that a lot of women are taught in America; you have to be better. Women are expected to fight with each other and compete with each other, and it took me a very long time to get out of that cycle. To this day it is something that I am still working on. My initial reaction when I see another woman, particularly another Black Woman, doing something great is "shit, is she better than me?" Or, I say to myself "now people are going to think they have to pick."


This unfortunate way of thinking and viewing the world snuck up on me today when a fellow future psychologist and Black Queen (whose name is also Breigh) announced she was going to be starting a blog. It took about 30 seconds of my "oh shit" response before my "Hell yeah girl you betta do it" response kicked in. I then began to feel ashamed that my second response was not my first and that I had been made a victim to this way of thinking.


I tell the parents of the children I work with that it took time for their children to become the way they are and it will take time for them unlearn those ways as well. This is something I have to remind myself of in these moments. There is room for all of us, and honestly, there should be more.

Another Queen's shine does not dull mine.

Keep your eye out for her first post on May 1st! #SupportBlackWomen #AllBlackEverything


78 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page