top of page
  • Writer's pictureBre

Captain Goku

A note about my movie reviews: I don't write full sentences, I write what thoughts came to my head as I was watching the film and then thoughts I had after.

Also, SPOILERS, duh.


So, I went to Captain Marvel (CM) on a Saturday evening., here's how it went:


There was only one other superhero trailer before the movie, which I thought was weird. Not even an #Endgame Trailer, which I was sure they would show.

They changed the Marvel intro to have all pictures of Stan Lee, which I admit got me a little emotional.


The movie starts and I immediately am trying to figure out why I know the other main character, then it hits me! Jude Law (The Holiday, one of my favorite movies).


Brie Larson has come a long way since Scott Pilgrim (also one of my favorite movies), but she can't fight for shit! These punches she's throwing are weak AF.


The sound in the theater seemed off for the entire 1st quarter of the movie, so I think the humor was just lost on me and I thought it was corny.


Dude 2 rows up from us won't stop coughing. Drink your damn slushy and shut up.


Why does she need a mohawk on her spacesuit?? She's literally the only White woman there, not hard to pick her out.


The first fight scene with CM and the Skrulls sucked. It was not choreographed well and it was confusing to watch. Also, her screaming back at the alien thing was supposed to be funny, but it wasn't.


Watching this CGI/makeup young version of Samuel L. Jackson is creepy, but as always he's great.


Blockbuster, Radio Shack. Need I say more. #nostalgia


The train fight was a much better fight scene. If you have time and are interested, watch the breakdown of it with the directors on the Vanity Fair YouTube channel (below).


It becomes quite obvious that Jude Law is one of the bad guys because like all of these hero movies, the person that is supposed to be the mentor for the main character is actually evil and has been lying to them this whole time.


I don't understand what's going on with this cat, is it something from the comics? I'm confused and I want it to go away.


Do Skrulls have Australian accents? Is this a thing?


Of course, she has a Black best friend who's gonna give her tough love and build up her self-esteem. #stereotypes


That little girl is cute and her hair is amazing, but let's be honest, in the 90's that girl would have a perm or some braids. #nonaturalsthen


I'm digging the female empowerment theme and the standing up and every time you get knocked down message. Definitely felt like I was watching Wonder Woman. Feels.


Girl, legit goes Super Saiyan and punches a space ship. Like, what effort even needs to get put in for Endgame?


Jude's whole "this is your ultimate tests, don't let your emotions get in the way, fight me without your powers" bullshit, is just that, bullshit. I'm glad they didn't try to add that into the movie cause it's unneeded and such a white man thing to do.


Stay for the mid-end credits end scene. The one at the very end isn't really necessary and isn't that funny.


Overall, I enjoyed the movie. Loved the social commentary, especially the false idea that women "let their emotions" get in the way of getting their jobs done. #effthatnoise


Looking forward to Endgame ya'll. It's almost here.

Comment your thoughts, reactions, Easter Eggs from this movie and predictions for Endgame.



25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page