top of page
  • Writer's pictureBre

Lion King?

So, this is the first movie I have gone to see on opening day in a long time.


SPOILERS, duh. ALSO, people complaining about spoilers on the internet for this movie......WTF?


So, overall, I will say The Lion King was good. Was I super impressed and excited and invested, Nah. Was the movie enjoyable, yeah.


The Lion King was the FIRST movie soundtrack I (my parents) ever owned. As a baby, it was the only soundtrack my parents were allowed to play in the car. The music, the story (Hamlet), all of it was just THE BEST....in 1994.


So, I saw this movie on opening day. I did not watch Beyonce's music video, and I did not listen to the soundtrack before it came out because I was firm on seeing the full picture before listening to the soundtrack.


This movie was okay, but I think the writers were way too committed to having the animals be natural. In the opening scene when we don't see the animals BOWING to Simba and instead they're doing normal animal stuff I knew this was going to be...okay.


Another article discussed this already, but I can not stress enough that SO much is left out when we don't give these animals the ability to emote because we're sticking to what animals actually do...hmph. They obviously did an amazing job with the animation; however, you miss the Disney essence.


It took me a second to realize that Seth Rogen was playing Pumba, his voice is just natural in this role, and it sounded like it was the original. Also, that Billy dude (Timon) was sanginggg.


Speaking of voice acting, James Earl Jones....dude you were not putting your heart in this work. *I* had more emotion in my voice on "you deliberately disobeyed me* than he did. I almost feel like they should have just copied the vocals from the original instead of re-doing it.


So...they took out Be Prepared...which is my song. I was thoroughly disappointed. Be Prepared is my life mantra, and I can not believe that it was shortened to this nonsense.


Scar, overall, I believe, it was good. People were in an uproar over his appearance when the trailer came out, but I wasn't, and I think it worked. It was way more believable that Scar was Mufasa's brother in this film with Scar's new look.


Alright yall. Let's talk about Beyonce...



le sigh. I mean, she did better than what I thought was going to happen. She wasn't doing a lot of sing-talking which I was surprised about and pleased.

Umm but...girl did not do a great job or even a good job at this voice acting thing...

LIONS ATTACK! ....eh.

I LOVE me some Beyonce, but uh..acting has never been her thing.

*good for her though for doing the Kendrick Lamar thing and having a whole ass album for the soundtrack*


Overall, the movie was not terrible, I enjoyed it, but it was not super good. I was glad that Hans Zimmer was back for this version...cause DUH. Will I see it again? No. Will I continue to watch the original? Yep.


Children should not be in the theater. They were all crying and upset, and that shit was annoying.


This movie had me just about as ambivalent as I was with the ending of GOT, they did what they could with what they had...so we'll see what happens with the next movies.

Again, lion attack.

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page